Charming Photos and Uplifting Writings

Exercise Creativity

Take Me Home

It has been one of those weeks when cloud cover seems to stay and moisture lingers in the air with the scattered thunder storms. It has been a pleasant week to complete some things indoors, including reading. I have read some intriguing books and even read that typically the genre I find fun to read is often the best genre for my writing. I do not know if there is a lot of truth in that ideology. I have enjoyed books of mystery, crime, and even romance, but I write through the view point of a cat.

I had done an exercise in the past that suggested picking an age I had fond memories. Then describe myself at that age and what I wished for out of the future at that age. Then compose that description into a character. Believe it or not, that is where I got the idea for speaking through the cat. At a young age, I was so fond of animals, especially cats. When neighbors lost their pets, they would call my house first to see if I had brought them home. If a puppy came up to me as I was walking home from school and seemed to want to follow me, and then home with me, he came. I was more than willing to let him stay, provide food and water and give him a name. I was determined to rescue all abandoned pets. Today, I still have a weak heart when it comes to stray animals. So, now explaining that exercise, that gives insight to where my characters come from in my stories.

I will admit that various exercises suggested through classes, magazines, and the Internet can provide inspiration to writing. When I have those moments, and hopefully less than more, and my thoughts do not seem to stay focused on writing the story at hand, these exercises seem to help add fuel to give creativity a boost. One exercise I liked, I call the Hallmark exercise, and you were to think of a Holiday, one that was memorable and exciting. Let yourself go back in time and feel the emotions you felt. Then write about the emotions in tangible detail. What would you describe that can be touched, but expresses tender joy? Another was to write about your favorite Holiday food. Allow yourself to use your senses and capture each element of aroma, texture, taste and appetizing appearance.

The first time I attempted some of these exercises, well, some of those first drafts have been deleted. But I will say, I have gotten ideas from those attempts and even used some of the descriptions from the exercises in some of my stories.

So, if it is a rainy day and you find it is a reasonable time to remain indoors, what genre do you like to read? Maybe it is an opportune time to write, like a letter to a friend and describing that new recipe for cheesecake you just baked. Make your friend reach out and contact you because she could just smell, taste and see that scrumptious, delectable dessert.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

