Charming Photos and Uplifting Writings

Mother’s Day

Happy Mother's Day

Mother’s Day is a day I want to express how thankful I am now. It’s also a time; I like to reminisce over the days when the children were small. Those creative gifts my kids made years ago. Some had to be thrown away due to bugs in the macaroni, and others will be kept in my ‘Mom’s treasure chest’. To me, I will remember the honor it was to receive those cards with their hand prints painted on with joy. To see their faces glow to give me something they were so proud to have made. Those handmade, painted frames with their school picture. Those handmade crafts made from their little hands of colorful beaded necklaces, those artistic pictures and play dough hearts.

Mother’s Day is a time to reflect on the blessings shared with my mother. I can still remember the handmade gifts I gave to my Mom. As I grew, I am grateful for those moments from childhood to adulthood when she offered that support needed to become a mother.

Mother’s Day is a time to be thankful for my children, grandchildren, nieces and nephews. Those moments when they could make me laugh, smile and give meaning to being a family. When receiving those chocolate-covered kisses and messy hand hugs with a happy smile and twinkle in the eyes gave a pause to the moment like a treasured photo.

Today, I am just as glad to receive the flowers and candy. It’s the grandchildren now that show that glow to give me those handmade gifts. It’s also fun to participate in the making of gifts with the grandchildren for their mother’s. Like I have said before, children can bring out the best and creative side to an adult.

It has become an honor to know that I have participated in the grand journey of motherhood. It has had its moments of fears, scares, and trials, but the joys shared have undoubtedly outweighed those moments. It has been a responsibility that has offered lessons learned, treasured moments, and experiences filled with love. Motherhood has added comfort to my journey in life.

I truly wish to every Mother, Mother-to-be, Grandmother, Great-Grandmother and Godmother this coming weekend, a time to reflect, a moment to share, an event to create and days when prayers are answered for participating in that honored league of Motherhood.

Comments on: "Mother’s Day" (2)

  1. […] Mother’s Day (swoolard79.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Mothers honoured at Sunset Walk to Remember…

    By Ron Thomson Posted 19 hours ago Sunday was a huge day for Sunset Palliative Care Inc.The organization held its Sunset Walk to Remember hike and officially launched it Mermory Garden with a ribbon-cutting ceremon……

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

